Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Face in the Mirror

Mute Swans, in this country, are a mixed blessing.  Granted, they are beautiful creatures, but they are also a non-native species that have impacted some of our more fragile waterfowl  as well as our native swans.  So when I see them, I appreciate their beauty and also wish they were where they belong.  All of that said, it was a rare treat to be able to photograph two of them today at very close range.  I suspect that people have been feeding these two as they swam right towards us rather than flying off as most swans do.  If I'm not mistaken, this is a second year cygnet, not yet sexually mature.  Happy to be corrected if I'm wrong.

I met up with my friend, Nancy at noon, on this damp, foggy day.  The light wasn't optimal and high ISO was the order of the day.  We didn't find any Killdeer or Green-winged Teal, but did manage to find 4 very skittish Wilson's Snipe.  They were photographed at a distance which meant the images were ridiculously cropped.  Not something I'd post, but fun to see them.  

Had a long nap when I got home and then spent some time with MIL.  Hubs made a delicious dinner which was enjoyed by all.  Hubs got MIL back to the care facility and tucked in for the night and we are going to snuggle into a nice warm bed and watch the Oscars.  Well, actually, Hubs will watch the Oscars and I'll read.

I am, at the moment, listening to a wonderful recording of Schubert's Ave Maria.  One of the most beautiful pieces of music ever written.  This version by the Red Army Choir was shared with me by a dear friend today - I just love it.  

Happy Sunday.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.