Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Amaryllis

Wow!   Today when I looked at the red amaryllis the seed pod had burst open!   It broke off the stem very easily so I laid it on a piece of white poster board so I would not lose the seeds.  They are not what I expected. 

Per an internet search, I have to let the seeds dry a few days, then plant them shallow in moist potting soil, cover with plastic wrap and let them sit until they sprout!    In our area, I think I can plant these outside once they come up but I doubt I will do that.  I probably will pot them separately until but keep them on the back porch where they will get morning sunlight.  

I am being very optimistic that I will get a few new bulbs from these seeds!!   Keep your fingers crossed!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.