Red Squirrel

There are very few places in the UK where red squirrels can be seen - Brownsea Island is one of them!

There are soooooo many photos that I could choose for my blip today (Sunday)! Wow! What a wonderful time I've had on this most gorgeously sunny day! The church service was scheduled for the evening, so I managed to get out on the first boat to Brownsea Island and made straight to where I hoped to see a red squirrel or two. I needn't have rushed - the squirrels were around pretty much all of the time - darting about looking for food. Of course, they didn't stay still for many moments and the light was difficult, alternating between bright sunlight and deep shadow from the trees. I fired off many, many shots, and I've barely glanced at them all, even though I'm blipping this a day late. Unsurprisingly, there are lots of blurred/noisy ones - but there are also a lot that I like! I couldn't choose - I love this one with sunlight providing a lovely backdrop but I also love my first extra,  as well as one of a redshank coming in to land (my second extra). Any other day, the reflected redshank would have made it as my main blip but my main purpose for visiting the island was to photograph the red squirrels, so a squirrel blip it is!

It was a great day for wildlife - the squirrels, a deer that allowed me to get really close, lots of peacocks and peahens, then the birds - common teal, avocets (a truly elegant bird!), mediterranean gulls, redshanks, shelduck and many others.

Today's blip for my b&w journal

I hope you had an equally great day! Thank you so much for everything for yesterday's blip!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.