Put your mitts up!

The squirrels are getting cheekier.  I had put out some hazelnuts on the patio this morning and a short while later I was in the living room when squirrel appeared on the windowsill (a first!) and did all but knock on the window to draw my attention to the fact that more nuts were needed! 

It's been another lovely, warm day and so I ate my lunch out on the patio.  One squirrel came straight past me and up the elder tree to the feeder whilst this one, less sure and less courageous, took up this stance before turning and running back up the footpath!  Endless hours of amusement.

We spent a couple of hours litter picking in the afternoon but the traffic was awful through the village.  It seems to have got a lot worse in recent months and is now almost non stop.  There have been three incidences of fly tipping in St Ives over 24 hours.  Apparently addresses have been discovered amongst the rubbish so it is to be hoped that action will be taken against the owners of the rubbish and the people who did the tipping (if they can be found!!)  I have to wonder if the law which requires firms to pay for the disposal of their waste needs revisiting as the cost of clearing up the fly tipping must offset the cost of taking it at the dump in the first place??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.