Rest Day

A bit of an unplanned day between the boat and moving on, so we did what you do - chill. And in truth, it was a bit cooler - so cool I could pull on long trews in the evening for the first time since Hong Kong. I could have done without the frequent showers, but there’s cafes and bars aplenty - at last I can catch up on events at home - there’s a new independent group of MPs! Having read a bit, I was none the wiser. Then, the Oscars - Green Book, eh? I’ve not seen it, and nor would I have showered awards on Bohemian Rhapsody. Hollywood seems to know that they need to up the awards to include more diversity and worthwhile stuff but looky, it’s Lady Gaga and Brad Cooper that can deliver the star treatment that Hollywood has been running on since the dawn of time.
And I also continued some reading of Alan Moorehead’s Desert War and his reflections on the messy and incredible end of empire.
And later, back to KC’s for an eat and live music from a dude with an electric who sang songs for a younger generation - Jack Johnson, Snow Patrol - the sort of stuff the SK seems to know, ha. And then, the song I’d been wanting to hear all along..
Traveling in a fried-out combie
On a hippie trail head full of zombie
I met a strange lady, she made me nervous
And she took me in and gave me breakfast...

Sweet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.