Capital adventures

By marchmont

Eco cookery

A fairly early start on a tour recommended by #2 son. To the market first to buy food. It was very busy, with cookery tours. Then a boat trip down the Thu Bon river for about an hour to the coconut palm groves. Then we transferred to the round bamboo boats, like coracles for a humble round the grooves looking for crabs. I was with an Australian lady from Tassie. Three groves are full of these boats with tourists mainly down from Da Nang for the day. Mainly Korean our guide said. These boats play music and do acrobatics, very raucous. And later there were loads of coaches parked up as evidence. A bit like the Tattoo!

Then we cooked. The obligatory spring rolls, banh xeo, pho and something else! We got the long chopsticks and cook book. It was good fun, a lot of food and in the shade.

Back to Hoi An by bus and once at the hotel, reflecting on my inability to be slim, I had a swim and started a new book read by the delicious Lindsey Duncan. My hair is a mess, not helped by hats (various) and the sun. Hopefully will be sorted next week.

Borrowed a bike to cycle out to see the sunset over the paddy fields but unfortunately forgot my phone so didn't go to far for great of being lost and no pics, on the phone. It is a slightly unnerving experience: different (old) bike, no gears, or bell, or helmet, masses of tooting bikes and cars and people stopping and turning in front of you. I did many junctions on foot.

I wasn't going to eat but I did (see comment above). I found a new route to town and a great Vietnamese restaurant, 2 courses and 3 local beers, £5 and good food. Much less than the £15 from last night but that was a bigger meal and in another training restaurant, so a good cause.

Another wander by the quay. Lively night views of lanterns and temples but so so busy. Home to bed and my book but no update on a matter far away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.