The doctor will be with you shortly

It was Frances' PhD viva today. She gave a great performance and will be awarded her PhD subject to the completion of minor corrections to her thesis within two months. This is an excellent outcome. Left to right in my blip are internal examiner Laura, Frances, external examiner Sheila, and me (Director of Studies).

After the viva we all went out for a celebratory lunch (with bubbles). Then as soon as I saw Sheila safely on her way I raced across town to deliver a presentation at a conference in the city centre. There I saw another of my PhD students (Leo), who presented his own paper this morning.

After all the to-ing and fro-ing of the past couple of days (plus lack of real exercise and a terrible diet) I am absolutely shattered. I am so grateful that I do not have to be on campus tomorrow - although I don't think that this gives me sufficient time to recover before my next trip to London on Saturday morning!

Exercise today: walking (21,642 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.