Kipsie

By Kipsie

I didn't get where I am today...

Up on the allotment at 7.30 this morning. Moved & turned two compost heaps, turned 4 8'x4' beds that I covered with manure last Autumn, then covered them to warm the soil for planting. The joy of finding so many worms on my plot. I know. It's the simple things in life that give me so much pleasure. You wouldn't get worms with artificial fertiliser, and yet so many gardeners on the site use it. One chap reckons the rotted farmyard manure encouraged slugs & pests. Well I know which I prefer and will be going to load up my little Toyota Aygo with more sacks very soon.
I was going to prune the fruit bushes and plant the rhubarb crowns but decided I needed to check out how to prune correctly.
Juliet, an allotment newbie arrived for her first visit to her patch. Offered her some Ruby chard as it is doing so well on my plot. She was chuffed and so was I. We were the only two up there all morning. Bliss!
Hard graft completed it was time to reap the fruits of my labour. I harvested my first ever purple sprouting brocoli. To say I am chuffed would be a slight understatement. No bag to carry it home, so had to improvise with an old compost bag and binder twine. I call it an allotment hand tied. A skill I learnt when I was manager of the plant department in a garden centre, which also had a floristry section. Mother's day & Valentines day were always manic so it was all hands on deck. Hand tieds can be tricky, and the florists always pulled my leg about my floristry skills, or lack of ;) , hence the title above

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.