Space, fresh air, freedom are esential

for my wellbeing. I've just Googled wellbeing  as I thought I had written it incorrectly. This popped up in the search,  NHS 5 steps to mental wellbeing - 
1. Connect with other people
2. Be physically active
3.Learn new skills
4.Give to others
5.Pay attention to the present moment (mindfulness)

I think I can tick all the above boxes. I've noticed mindfulness in articles a lot recently. Being interested in art & photography helps me to be more aware of my surroundings, to appreciate what I have.  When I was looking down the Teign estuary this morning I just thought how lucky I was, nothing but birdsong, the stillness of the water, the sunlight catching the plants along the beach top, the sparkle on the water. This was what I needed over the past couple of weeks when I'd been feeling yucky, instead of being cooped up at home. Hubby insisted I did'nt go out, so rather than cause an argument I stayed in ... ARGH!!!  If only I could get my hubby to see what I see, feel what I feel, when I'm outside. He does'nt understand me at all.

"There's no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothes" A Norwegian saying apparently. I read it in a book. Which strangely takes me back to living in Sweden. Winter, & cold weather on the way, Viveka, my employer suggested I bought some long johns to wear under my trousers. Did I take her advice, no. I went out walking one day wearing my normal clothing only to find wind burn ( I guess that's what it was) down my legs from the seams on the jeans. Long johns, not essentiaI, but I very quickly purchased a pair.
My medication is essential to control pain relief, & I never, well unless I stupidly forget, go anywhere without my Mentos bubble fresh chewing gum. The chemo & radiotherapy damaged my saliva glands, which are generally defunct so I chew gum, but not mint flavoured. Fortunately I can normally find the tubs in Home Bargains.
I'm looking after Yogi for a few days, moved in this morning ... for some unknown reason the central heating is'nt working, so I'm not as warm as I could be but the central heating is not essential, I've just got my big chunky knit jumper on, & in a minute I shall be snuggling in under my duvet.
I made soup for dinner tonight, grabbed a saucepan out of the drawer, popped in the prepared veg, water. Popped it on a hob. Prod, prod, prod .... nada! Ovens, hobs, microwaves, tv's, they are always a challenge to me wherever I go to house & dog sit. My memory's not as sharp as it used to be, tonight was no exception . After more prodding, I suddenly had this flashback. Maybe the pan I'm using is not suitable for an induction hob. It is essential to use the correct equipment to get a satisfactory conclusion. Start again. Soup sorted. I still have'nt found a toaster, & I had a couple of flat breads I wanted to liven up. The built in all singing & dancing microwave, oven plus more was my only means so I twiddled a few knobs and heated them until they were hard as biscuits .... unintentional, by the way. Roll on tomorrow!

Thanks to ApolloFly for hosting Mono Monday .. "Essential", good one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.