I spent my childhood here

The Anchor Inn, one of two pubs in the village, until it had a fire  on the first floor & attic, & was deemed unsafe due to the water seeping into the cob walls, so was completely demolished. Strangely enough it burnt down on the 4 March 2015, nearly 5 years to the day, & sadly this is how it has remained more or less, give or take the addition of some cheeky buddleja.  When did the buddleia drop the i for a j??? I'm sure I always spelt it with an i, whatever. Mum & Dad moved in when I was 8 years of age, they spent 30 years as tennants. We had some amazing characters back in those days. 2 men's darts team, 1 ladies,  the Knighton Tiger's skittles (that's 9 wooden pins placed on a diamond, stone floored alley, rubber coated wooden balls. 3 balls per player. Maximum score 27 per person per leg.) team, lots of social evenings by local businesses. Mum was known for putting on a good spread, Dad was famous for his roast potatoes. Roast potatoes were always requested. Coaches came from Exeter, Plymouth & everywhere in between. I kept a pony, Brandysnap, then Bisto, lastly Augustus in one of the old sheds that Dad made into a stable. My brother bred rabbits for the butcher in the loft above. He also reversed Mum's Ford Prefect through the double garage doors on day. Dad had gone to Newton Abbot races, Rog asked Mum if he could have a go in the car. He could only drive forward from where it was parked in the back yard but he put it in reverse by mistake. Ops! The car was jammed, Rog managed to get out. Dad was'nt amused when he returned. The kitchen /living room was downstairs behind the bar, then the brewery built new toilets, (the mirror still on the remaining tiled wall of the Ladies), plus a catering kitchen so we moved upstairs. The pub changed hands many times after Mum & Dad retired ,not always for the better. It makes me very sad to see it like this, Mum too. I nipped down to Chudleigh Knighton this morning to get this blip because the house next door has come up for sale. The village policeman lived there when I was young, then it was taken by the local council, then sold. Ann who lives there now has spent most of her life there with her parents & siblings, then her own family. There is a good sized garden behind which would be of interest I'm sure to who ever bought the pub site, as it would improve access and have the potential of probably 2 building plots. It's certainly an eyesore as it stands now. Happy Days! Halcyon Days! Sad Days!

I found my mojo today ... it was in the garden. I've sown more Sweetpea seed, sprinkled with ground white pepper. I'm hoping the pesky blighter dislikes pepper. We'll see. I'm off to look after Yogi tomorrow so wanted to get a few more jobs in the garden done. A couple of shrubs, & a clematis pruned, some naughty Rose bay willow herb seedlings oiked out. Gosh they did'nt want to budge. I've spotted lots of single oval shaped leaves popping up so I'm trying to think what may have self seeded from last year.
The Agapanthus seedlings are looking very perky. I've lots of harvested seed of other varieties so need to identify & plan sowing. Sun, rain, sun, fabulous blue skies, another shower, sunshine ...
Just watching Countryfile, Lincolnshire is looking decidedly soggy, & I thought I had problems with plot 28 & 29. Farmers want government compensation for the crops they've missed sowing & harvesting. I wonder if I asked. I could send them some pics of my parsnips, that might make them feel sorry for me.

Roast duck for dinner tonight, which reminds me ...... the injured pigeon came to the front door when I was having my early coffee, tapped on the glass I think unless it flew into it again, by the time I'd opened the door it had disappeared. Spooky!

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.