Another day, same dung heap

Gerry was up on the allotment site yesterday afternoon when I arrived with the bags of dung. We had a chat then I offered her some bags of manure as she only gets up on the plot on a weekend. We went to school together. She's never married, worked in the office for the Fire Service for years, no internet, no mobile phone, no tv. She has gone to work all the way through furlough as she can't work from home. She does the payroll.
SO my first job this morning after fetching the paper, & buying a birthday card for Jasper, a sweet little chap who lives opposite, is 3, or 4 years of age today, I'm not sure. He's dairy intolerant, & not much choice for birthday pressies in Chudleigh so I popped a £5 note in with his card. Off to the dung heap to top up my stock. Yesterday 12 bags, today I managed to get another 6 in the boot of the car. Good job hubby can't see what I put in the boot of the car. He! He!
I offloaded the manure, then helped myself to the conifer chippings that someone had dropped on the plot site ...12 barrows later, there were bark paths between the rows of fruit bushes, plus topping up the paths around the raised beds. I lifted the last of the turnips. Quickly drew a plan of my plot so that I can plan the crop rotation. I could have stayed up there all day but hubby would not have been happy. Back home 3 loads of laundry done & out on the line, vacuuming done, cleaning done, it was lunch time.
This afternoon I mowed the grass, an awful lot of moss, but it's green ... :-), tidied & weeded the border, then planted some Acidanthera bulbs that I picked up in Tesco's, they have a multi-buy offer which I could'nt resist.

Time for a cider & The Chase.

Chicken & pumpkin masaman traybake for dinner tonight

Not sure if my Physalis alkekengi qualifies for today's Mono Monday challenge set by isbi a member of the Blackheath Blippers - Light in Black & White Photography. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.