youngies journey

By youngie66

I'm Singing In The Rain

Well I'm not singing actually it was just the song going through my head after my yearly assessment on the simulator at Derby the big question is did I pass well good news and bad news the good news is I passed all emergency scenarios with flying colours the bad news you will have to suffer my railway blips for another year at least Lol so this shot is after I had completed the scenario of driving during low adhesion I had started my trip at Dunbar Station with it pelting down with rain so just as I was getting up to my 110mph when they started to give me cautionary aspect so as I started to brake they can make the train go into a heavy wheelslide situation but with some carefull braking technique I brought my train to a stand at the red signal then I had to tell the signaller that there was Low adhesion in the area at which point I was corrected over the speaker that I should have used the word EXCEPTIONAL for really bad railhead conditions so here was my quandry I dont want to look a smarty pants as the instructors are all good guys but to state the word exceptional to a signaller regarding low adhesion you have to be in a known low adhesion area according to the rule book and sectional appendix as Scotland now has no known low adhesion areas in the sectional appendix I had to inform the guys they were wrong so as it was the end of the scenario there is a pause and it all goes quiet whilst they burn the assement onto a disc as it is filmed and recorded but not before the voice boomed over the speaker apoligising for his mistake lol but to be honest they don't have as much access to the Scottish Sectional Appendix as we do so a wry smile on Youngies face as you can see in the shot I displays two Yellows I was then told to do a controlled test stop at the signal protecting Markle Level crossing which is another two signals ahead which would mean trying to stop on a slippy rail with a red signal and open level crossing in front so I refused to do it until the signal which I am standing at goes to green so the signal which I would be stopping at had a proceed aspect as this is what the instructors want you to do so not caught out with that one either so a good all round day and glad it is over till next year and see what they throw at me then on the tough scenario of rescue/recovery which can be daunting I probably had my best effort ever on this one so was well chuffed with that and a big thanks to everyone wishing me luck it helped spur me on the joys of blip Eh! so enough of my ramblings for today and will now try and catch up with your blips over the next few days thanks again on a side note when I was at a blip meet a few weeks back I was telling MELES and DAVEH that I had been driving in a slippy area and dumped the sand bottles to help me stop my train at Cupar so I guess I'm not infallible I think the passengers noses were squished a little on the seat in front of them lol but at least I stopped on the platform

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.