Snowdonia

I finally solved my software problem late last night and won my escape. I needed to help someone celebrate their blipday. We had so much fun trying to take this blipday shot. The outtakes are hilarious!

After leaving England at the crack of dawn under clear skies and a heavy frost, I arrived in a much milder but also much damper Ireland. The flight was spectacularly beautiful. We flew from Manchester to the north of Snowdonia and Anglesey. The view of the mountains was incredible. This shot doesn't really do the scene justice. The light was too subtle to capture. I've not got a map to hand to check but I can recognise most of the topography here. This is where I did most of my formative mountaineering, scaring myself silly doing ice-climbs on Snowdon before finding out that I enjoyed scrambling more and then running. I've been to the summit of every little peak you can see in this shot.

You can see the Conway river flowing out to sea with LLandudno and the Great Orme near distance. The snow patches are the Carneddau. The ridge beyond that is the Glyders, and then beyond that you can see the summit of Snowdon, the highest point in England and Wales. It's not quite the furthest summit in the distance far right. This used to be my playground.

Thanks for all the love for yesteday's blip. I hope you'll forgive me for not spending any more time on blip tonight. There is blipday food to be eaten and wine to be drunk. Congratulations TJ on your 500th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.