A day in the life

By Shelling

Leek

A friend of mine, who runs a café has got houseleek, growing on a flat limestone rock outside the entrance. It's huge and very old. I bought a couple of houseleeks last spring, because I think they are fabulous plants  but has had endless problems getting them to like me and the way I took care of them. When they were close to dying late last summer, I asked my friend how he got his to survive on, what seemed like a bare slab of rock and he replied that he didn't really know. He said he just threw some soil on the rock and put them on top of it. After that they have arranged their own bed and created  nourishment out of something or other, you don't see any soil anymore, and the plant fills up the whole surface.

So, with two nearly dead plants I did the same thing last autumn,  I threw some plant soil on a limestone and let them mind their own business. This is what they look like now, far from dead, more colourful and healthy looking than they ever did before. 
There must be a lesson here somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.