A day in the life

By Shelling

Hollow

This old apple tree is on its last twig. It still gives apples but not very many,  they are no good to eat and they rot very quickly. My landlord has said he wants to take it down because more and more of the big branches are rotting. Some has broken off and they can be very heavy. 
Probably the tree has a rotted trunk, you can see where this branch used to be, that there's nothing left inside.  Sometimes trees like this can evolve into sculptures. If the bark falls off, the wood dries and gets a beautiful grey color,  then you can cut some of the longest, more dangerous branches away and trim the rest of the dead tree into a nice shape that you can hang things from or just keep as a sculptural form. It all depends on how badly damaged the trunk is, it might just fall over. 

I'll discuss this with my landlord. He says I can do what I want in the garden but I don't actually know what I'm doing, I just have an image in my head. We'll see what it develops into.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.