A day in the life

By Shelling

Fat tuesday

Easter day, in christian tradition, is on "the first Sunday after the first full moon that occurs on, or after 21 of March". This rule was decided in Nice 325 d.C. and Sweden has, since 1844, decided to follow the rule. All according to Wikipedia.
Today is the 47th day before easter day, in Sweden called "Fettisdag", Fat tuesday because of all the rich, fat food consumed this day. Traditionally we eat a "Semla", a small bun baked with wheat flour [called [i]simila[/i] in latin]. The top of the bun is cut off, some of the inside of the bun is removed and  filled with marzipan instead and then topped with whipped cream before you put the lid back on top of the cream. How the bun is consumed and the filling varies in Scandinavia. In Norway and Denmark the bun is often filled with jam or vanilla cream, in Germany you drench it in milk and eat it with a spoon, in England [Shrove day] you eat pancakes instead and on Island you have pea soup and salted lambs meat. They eat their buns on the Monday in stead, as we also do in southern parts of Sweden as well. Puritans have one Semla a year on the right day. I had mine with a coffee and I use no spoon eating it. It wasn't my first either.

It's been snowing all day, though the temperature has been 7 degrees Celsius so none of it stays on the ground for very long. A rather soggy day.

I still do my yoga every day and I have noticed some improvement in flexibility and strength plus that I now, after a while, can reach the floor with my neck when I'm lying flat on my back. That's been impossible in the last thirty years or so, not totally relaxed yet but a big improvement on how it used to be. Hurray for that. I like improvement, a great factor for keeping up the practice. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.