Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Treasures

You may recall that I recently blipped some thread spools on my MIL's old Singer Sewing Machine (which was actually her father's).  Well, I decided to poke around in the drawer on the sewing machine table - it is scarred and battered and fabulous, the keeper of a million stories, I'm sure.  I found these fantastic old bobbins, made of cardboard and an old tailor's tape, made of fabric and still bearing the blue chalk marks from something measured.  As soon as I saw those bobbins, I knew that I had to photograph them.

So, tech details - macro lens, tripod, soft box, mirror, single focal point.  I played around with settings a bit and ended up with images that needed no edits other than a small crop.  If you look closely, you can see that the bobbins are "made in the USA" and hold a patent.  

And now that my blip for the day is done, I can start looking at all the TinyTuesday entries for today!  I will announce my picks on Thursday.

And, the grackles were back bright and early this morning - Hubs estimated about 1,000 before most took off leaving about 100 behind.  I took some dried corn out and scattered it on the snow near the woods to try to divert them from the feeders.  Yikes.  

Cheers.
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.