Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Noisy Nineteen

This week has definitely been all about the Grackles.  They showed up after the last snowstorm and are showing no signs of leaving.  This would be okay if there were just a dozen or so...but at some points during the day there are over 200.  I'm rapidly going through the 40 pound bag of sunflower seeds I just bought, as well as the reserves of dried, cracked corn.  And, because they are the biggest birds in the yard, all the little "regulars" are having a hard time getting to the feeders.  I've taken to putting seeds on the upstairs windowsill for the sparrows, finches and cardinals.  And I'm taking solace in the fact that when this infernal snow finally melts, the grackles will take off for nearby farm fields.

In the meantime, here's YardBird # 19, the Common Grackle.  As you can see, he's a truly handsome creature.  At first glance, he looks black, but when the sun catches his feathers, they seem to burst into color.  I took this shot late in the afternoon when the light was perfect.  I was huddled in my hide, bearing the frigid temps, camera lens poking out the side...and all around me were the squeaks and creaks and crackles of grackles.  The photo required very little in the way of tweaking just because the light was so perfect.  

Mom, this one is for you.  

As I sit here typing this, there is a cardinal just outside the window, not 3 feet from me, happily eating seeds.  How lucky am I?

xo
Debbi

If you'd like another shot showing a different view of two grackles, click HERE.  And to see 2 of the 12 Cardinals in the yard today, see Extra.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.