ANOTHER WEDDING ANNIVERSARY!

Mr. HCB wanted us to go out for a meal on our Wedding Anniversary, which is actually 51 years ago to the day - having got married on a Wednesday, but when we woke up this morning, it was evident that I had shared my bugs with him.  He had a bad headache and was sneezing well so having made sure he could cope without me, off I went to the Radio Station for the Girls About Town live show, which went very well.  Fortunately, there are quite a few songs in amongst the chat, so I was able to have a good cough during those!

We decided when I got home that perhaps we would go out for a coffee somewhere, but after lunch I noticed a gentle snoring from the other chair, and saw that Mr. HCB was fast asleep.

I knew he wouldn’t be that keen on having his photograph taken, so decided I would be creative and find something to do with my wedding dress, which is still looking good, despite its age, so thought that I could probably use some of the cherry blossom from our garden.

I tiptoed out of the room, went into the garage, donned my garden shoes, picked up a pair of secateurs and a small hand tool to pull down some branches and off I went.  What I hadn’t factored in was the fact that we had had torrential rain for about two hours so everything in the garden was very wet, so that when I pulled a branch of the tree down, I got showered with raindrops.  

Determined to keep going, I cut off a lovely branch, then went back indoors, got my wedding dress out from a drawer underneath our bed and spread it out on the spare room bed.  I wasn’t that bothered that the branch and flowers were wet because I don’t think I will be wearing the dress again!  I took several shots, so here is the result.  

It’s now raining again, so we have decided that it might be best to stay indoors in the warm and perhaps look back on our Golden Wedding trip last year.  Thinking of our wedding day all those years ago, at least it isn’t blowing a gale but neither is it as warm as it was a year ago when we were in Vietnam - but we have each other and hopefully before too long, we will both be completely fit and well and can then go out and enjoy a meal together.  

Mr. HCB approves of the photograph and has just said, as we often do at this time of year, that the petals from the flowers on the cherry tree look just like pieces of confetti floating down - very appropriate for today!

“A successful marriage isn’t the union
     of two perfect people.
It’s that of two imperfect people
     who have learned the value
          of forgiveness and grace.”
Darlene Schacht

P.S.  Just popped down to our local M & S at a nearby garage to get us a "Meal Deal" to have this evening, to try and cheer Mr. HCB up, told the lady why I was buying it, so she came over to the till when I was paying, gave me a bunch of roses and said "Happy Anniversary"!  How lovely is that?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.