... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Swan and Cygnets

Back Blip
Our internet is down at home (meh), so I'm blipping from work.

I'll be brief: I don't know why I find this so amusing... Does anyone else think this seems drôle? Perhaps there is an in joke going on, and now sufficiently anatid-attuned to get anatid in jokes (well, almost). Perhaps it is because they're sort of begging in formation; perhaps it is because the cygnets seem to be mimicking the parent; perhaps it is because the cygnets look like such awkward, flimsy versions of the parent?

There was lots of action on Mount Pond yesterday (slightly peculiarly, since it seemed to be approaching absolute zero, so activity should have been very much down...); there were all the usual suspects, but also swarms of starlings and goldfinches! I got some cute pictures of the goldfinches, but they were at the tops of trees in a fenced off area so I couldn't really get close enough for a blip-worthy photo. I was also shaking too much...
Mount Pond was mostly (more than 50%) frozen over: the ice meant that the swans couldn't actually get to the edge of the pond, so they followed me around in their ice-free zone, almost beckoning for me to come to them ("We can't get to you. You're human (ergo have food); bring us our food!"). I felt very much guilt-tripped.

The light wasn't fantastic (there were thinnish clouds over the sun), but it seems to have contributed to the cold appearance of the lake, so perhaps it is apt. I think the cygnets are cute!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.