Hatton Flight (widwed060319)

This week's Wide Wednesday theme is industrial, but there's not much industry in our part of Warwickshire, so I have gone for this view of a part of the Industrial Revolution.  Hatton flight is a set of locks on the Grand Union Canal just north of Warwick.   More history if you follow the link,  but they were part of the Canal building period in the late 1700s, and were used for carrying coal to the Black Country.

What we see today is the result of the 1930s refurbishment and is now largely a leisure resource. 

I've gone for a mono/sepia look as I think it suits the subject and it makes the modern corrugated metal roof less of an intrusion.

This one looks much better large on black.

Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting and setting the theme.

Just for interest, the local BBC news are running an item about the photo archive of the Express and Star being digitised and made available on-line. The Express & Star was the local newspaper when I was growing up. The archive is free to search and is at this www address https://photo-archive.expressandstar.co.uk/

As a piece of personal history, I searched for Sandvik and found the factory my father worked in, where he took me to work with him on a Saturday morning to give my mum some free time. His staff 'modified' one of the steel strip bending machines so I could operate it by pulling on various lengths of hairy string ... H&S might frown on that now :-)
https://photo-archive.expressandstar.co.uk/collections/getrecord/GB149_D-EXP_P_I29_9

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.