THE STACK

Had a lazy day indoors until it was time to get the bus into Newcastle around 4.30pm.  I had a wander around the shops for a bit and took my blip shot.

The Wide Wednesday theme today is  Industry/Industrial.  The best I could come up with is The Stack. Old shipping containers have become a cost-effective, and eco-friendly way of injecting life into tired areas to cater for diners and shoppers.  The site of The Stack used to be where the Odeon cinema stood and now it has been transformed into a village of food vendors and bars with  shops on its outside lower level  focusing on North East independent retailers. There's beer and wine stores, a beauty salon, coffee bar and even a yoga space. Inside there is a seating area in the centre with long tables, and a 'pop up' space which changes its theme every 3 months. Bars can be found around the perimeter with food stalls on the upper level. There is live music at weekends. Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting.

Then I headed for the Cineworld cinema at The Gate complex.  I had a ticket for a free preview screening of the film Fisherman's Friends.

The film is based on a true story about Fisherman's Friends - a group of Cornish fishermen from Port Isaac who were signed by Universal Records and achieved a top 10 hit with their debut album of traditional sea shanties. I really enjoyed it. 

Came out of the cinema around 8.10pm and the next bus home wasn't until 8.42pm so I went into Eldon Square shopping centre to shelter from the heavy rain.  Just sat on a seat for a while until it was time to head for the bus stop.

When I got home I cooked my tea.  Bit late in the day but it was too early to have it before I went to the cinema.

So I'm behind with comments.  Hopefully I will find time tomorrow to catch up.


Steps today - 8,676

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.