HELLO FROM THE METROCENTRE

Neil got in touch and asked me if I wanted to go for an early Mother's Day meal as he is working on Sunday.  I already had plans to go to The Metrocentre so we agreed to meet there at 3pm.

Before meeting Neil I went to Next to return a couple of things. The old Next store has closed and today was the grand opening of their new huge store.  It occupies the site of the former BHS store on ground level and it also has an upstairs.  The store was opened this morning by Sir John Hall  whose company  first developed the Metrocentre shopping in the 1980s.

In my blip shot you can see one of the fourteen "Silver Shopper  installations which are scattered around the malls. The statues were unveiled in 2011 to mark the 25th anniversary of The Metrocentre. The  new Next store can just be seen on the left of my shot.

Neil and I went to Ask, Italian for our meal.  I chose a healthy option - salmon and salad - and Neil had his favourite  - Penne Al Pollo Della Casa ( chicken pasta ).The food was lovely and it was good to see Neil.

After the meal we met up with Neil's girlfriend Rachael for a drink in Wetherspoons.  Neil couldn't stay long as he was meeting a friend at 5pm and then they were off to Newcastle racecourse to attend a " Cheltenham Preview Evening".  Its a question and answer event with race horse trainers, jockeys and journalists discussing the coming Cheltenham Festival. A sausage and mash supper is included in the price.  After Neil left Rachael and I had a nice catch up before we went our separate ways.  I did some shopping before coming home.

Thankfully the snow has all gone.  And not before time. 

Steps today - 9,777

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.