A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Getting ready

for weekend visitors. You may be able to guess who the important one is!

If everyone is well Eda is coming for the weekend whilst mum and dad treat themselves to a night away at their honeymoon place in Haworth.

I’ve put out this selection of books as today is World Book Day.
Some are new ones to give to Eda, some she is already familiar with and has at home (Julia Donaldson’s Paper Dolls being a favourite which I read to her every day last week)
Others are to go away for a little while to be given to her and enjoy later.
Some of the choices are thanks to friend and fellow blipper Paula J - thanks Paula.

I remember some years ago at work, did I really work?, being asked as a member of staff to bring in a favourite book and have a photo taken with it to display on the walls above the steps up to the school library. At that time I chose Khaled Hosseini’s ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ which I had just read.
I preferred this to his more popular ‘The Kite Runner’. Writing this I realise I haven’t read the ‘And the Mountains Echoed’ or maybe I did and have forgotten.

I like World Book day but as I’m never without a book, every day is Book day here. I’ve recently finished re reading Nicholas Montserrat’s ‘ The Kappilan Of Malta‘ to get me in the mood for our upcoming break and then an Anne Cleeves detective which I finished last night. I like to mix more ‘serious’ reading with some escapist detective stuff. Tonight it will be time to choose a new book, always a treat.

I hope that Eda will always feel this way about her books. I love sharing them with her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.