Life through the lens...

By ValC

Charlotte's real " Briarmains".

World Book Day.

I have been thinking about this blip for a while, and when I found that today was World Book Day, well it just had to be my blip.

After visiting Oakwell Hall a few weeks ago, I decided to start reading Charlotte Bronte's " Shirley", as it was all about the Luddites and where we live.

This is Red House, in Gomersal.
Built in the 1660's and unusually of red brick instead of stone.
It was owned by the Taylor family, who are the " Yorkes " in Charlotte's novel " Shirley".
Mary Taylor was one of Charlotte's closest friends.
They first met at Roe Head school in 1831, and became life long friends.
Mary is " Rose Yorke" in the novel, and Martha, her sister, is " Jessie Yorke".

" Some of it's windows too were aglow; opened upon the lawn; curtains concealed the interior, and partly obscured the ray of candles which lit it, but they did not entirely muffle the sound of voices and laughter."

This is how Charlotte describes Briarmains in the novel.

Unfortunately the candles, voices and laughter are no more and "Briarmains"   ( Red House) lies empty and unloved.
The House and Museum have been closed since December 2016.
I believe it is to be sold by Kirklees Council.https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2254672404670319490


I must say I am enjoying reading the book, even though I find the language a little difficult at times.
Certainly glad I bought it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.