Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Fun Day

...As in, Awana Fun Day. And I am finally blipping this on 8th March - nearly a week later!

I'm not sure how it happened, but there I was... at G's old school, for this annual event. A slightly early start (for a Saturday), we got there to find a number of volunteers had arrived much earlier to get some big things ready.

I think there were around 70 kids in all with a busload coming all the way from Ras Al Khaimah. My blip shows the field where the games were played. (A rather posh backdrop methinks!) They had a bouncy castle and blow-up climbing frame too. It all went really well and I was glad to be on my way home by 2pm, except, G had promised that we would look into new speakers for the Volvo on Saturday (my birthday present), so we drove straight there. It was 3:30 by this time and the shops were closed, as I suspected.

There were two guys sitting on a cart close to the shop I wanted, so I asked what time they would open. He said 5pm. My heart sank. It is such an effort to get to this place and today, we had even found a parking spot.

Anyway, one of the guys recognised me from when I was there in November enquiring for speakers for the Peugeot! I knew he wasn't kidding because he remembered the car I had. Long story short, he said he would fit new speakers for me on the spot. Fantastic! It wasn't a wasted trip after all.

I would have been finished and on my way home before 5 had I not asked him to check my antenna. It hasn't worked for at least three years. I thought I would need a specific Volvo aerial, but no, a Chinese one will work just as well, so I now have an antenna that works.

Weekend traffic means it took longer to get home and there were all the usual things to do before the start of a new week! Time vanished. I am very thrilled with my new speakers. Now I just need a long drive to enjoy them. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.