A day in the life

By Shelling

Storm

I've seen the news, a storm i coming along. Quite exciting actually because I knew that it was coming, more or less when it was coming and that it was going to blow over in a couple of hours, according to the local weather report. 
Suddenly, in the middle of my coffee the light changed and I saw these clouds coming. The storm, I scientifically thought, is here right on time. Five minutes later there was a sort of whoosh, or a blast like some wave hit the house. I had an acoustic sensation like if the roof was lifting slightly and I could feel a draft coming through the house. This is a hundred year old house where natural draft is the ventilation system. Everything got rather black for a while outside, the blue sky vanished and all the trees started to move in serious ways as a snow and rain mix started as if someone pressed a button. Two hours later it was all over, it's still a bit windy but nothing to write about. It was all happening in real time, still it felt like something being orchestrated by the Swedish weather institute because it all happened just like they said it would. Really weird. 

I'm glad they're  getting better at forecasting because it can really help someone to protect themselves but at the same time I had the feeling of security, as if this wasn't going to hurt me and that everything was under control, That's a bit scary. I like being alarmed, having to think ahead and to  seek shelter or take actions to stop things or people from getting damaged. There is a risk of being numbed by the feeling of security, since everything seems predictable. Which it isn't of course but it's important to stay in the now when things seems to be taken care of by someone else. It was a good two hour reminder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.