A time for everything

By turnx3

Mr. Cardinal

We’d had another dusting of snow overnight, and then late morning as I was about to leave to go swimming at the “Y” we had another flurry. There had been quite a turnover of birds at the feeders all morning - male and female cardinals, finches, red-winged blackbirds (I have only seen them in the garden this week), blue jays, mourning doves, grackles, red bellied woodpecker, tufted titmouse, and the inevitable starlings, though thankfully not in such large numbers as they have been at times. I happened to look out our bathroom window just before leaving for the “Y” and there were quite a number of birds sitting in the oak tree overlooking the feeders, waiting their turn I guess, so I quickly fetched the camera and took a couple of shots of the brightly-coloured cardinal through the snow. He looked rather cold. It must be hard for them to find enough to eat at this time of year - I’m sure they’re longing for Spring like we are! I was alone going out for exercise today, as Roger’s knee has been playing up a bit since yesterday evening, so he decided to give it a rest. Tonight we were out at church for 2nd Friday Nighters - a dinner with a speaker.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.