Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Ladies Hiking day

Today was the monthly hike for the ladies hiking group. We were hiking at a location that was only 45 minutes away from home which was good as the weather was not the best!   It rained up until about 8am so we moved our start time up to 11am which worked out well.   It was still damp but it warmed up enough that I wore my hiking shorts and a short sleeve shirt and light jacket.      This trail is very flat as it runs along an old railroad bed road.    

We had ten of us today.  One lady, Margaret, is legally blind. She walked holding on to someones arm but she completed the six mile hike with us.    When we spotted something along the trail, a flower or piece of moss or a fungi, we would pick it up for her to look at it closer and hold it in her hand for the texture.   So happy she joined us today.  

My dog Gypsy was off leash for this hike. She rambled ahead with the faster walkers and then would come back to where I was or go walk with someone else.   Several of the hikers that met her for the first time today commented on how well behaved she was and how she listened to me.   I guess my dog training for trails is great; my dog training at home is not quite as good as she hardly listens at home!!  

I had only taken some fruit, nuts and cheese sticks along with water for munching on along the trail.  By the time I got home I was really hungry and needed protein.  So I got some beef   steaks out of the freezer to thaw for grilling,  chopped up some potatoes and onions to fry up, and made a couple pieces of garlic bread!   I overcooked/burnt every bit of it!   I told Jerry we should have eaten out since I was too tired to cook.  We ate it anyway!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.