St Olaf's Kirk Ruins

Another cold day, some wintery showers, some sunny spells, and the breeze has been picking up, with gales coming tonight.

I've been working in the museum office all day, and plodding on through with photos.  Part of my lunch break was picking up some old photos for a customer in Voe.  After tea, u rushed off to work in the pub.  It's been a quiet evening.  Walkies with Sammy after work, and now feet up by the fire. 

While I was out at lunch, I took a brisk walk around in the fresh air, and also got caught in a shower.  As I came over the fields, I headed for the old ruins of St Olaf's Kirk.  The old Olnafirth Kirk dates from the early 1700s. Although the roof has gone, the walls remain standing, but cracked and ready to fall. Within are a pair of graveslabs belonging to the Gifford family. Above the arched entrance on the north gable, there was an armorial panel displaying the arms of Thomas Gifford and Elizabeth Mitchell of Busta House, their initials, and the date of their marriage in 1714, now lying in the grass below.  The kirkyard remained in use long after the closure of the church.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.