Staney Hill Housing Development

It was a wild night, and still breezy today.  The wind has picked up again this evening.  The odd heavy shower, and the odd wintery shower.

I didn't sleep well last night, part of the garden fence came loose and banged against the wall through the night.  Another day working in the museum office.  I've been busy transferring files on my computer, getting ready for the new IT system.  I've also made a small start to clearing my desk, and moving permanently to the main museum desk.  Walkies with Sammy this evening, and then off to work in the pub later. 

'Da Toon' is about to see it's largest housing development since the late 1940s and 50s, with Hjaltland Housing Association putting up 300 new homes.  Diggers arrived a few weeks ago, and have made a start to laying the water pipes.  This will have a huge impact on the town, and the views.  I often wonder who lives in all these new homes going up, as our population never changes much.  Two extra photos show the vast scale of the development, stretching across the bare hillside.  Looking from Anderson Road, towards Staney Hill, Lerwick. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.