Capital adventures

By marchmont

Last night - Taiwan Day 6

I started the day watching CNN broadcast the live press conference from Strasbourg and ended it watching part of the live Commons debate with a very hoarse PM and the CNN anchor commenting how empty the House of Commons was for such an important debate.

But meanwhile back in my world - we started the day by a long visit to the International Floral Exposition in Taichung. It isn't Chelsea but it was interesting, mainly orchids and then some activities on the adjoining horse ranch, including the display of two national treasures, jade cabbages. It was hot and sunny but very busy with many, many school groups from early years to secondary. I think I was the only European (and there's irony) on the entire site. The schoolkids, even the youngest, say 'hello', probably out of curiosity.

There was a farmer's market and a world market (complete with obligatory pan pipes) I lost the rest of the family so I missed seeing Olivia on a horse but I did have fries.

Lunch was late, well after 1, but quick and probably the least good we've had. Then on the bus for the 3+ hour drive down the freeway to Kaohsiung with one stop on the way. Olivia has been given a face mask. Amelia oscillates from fast asleep to bring very bouncy. My left side is in permanent agony.

Dinner tonight hosted by the bride's family with guests, the groom's family. And the only time we have checked into the hotel first but that was after the stop to buy the red wine, Heineken and Guinness for the meal which was in the hotel. Wrong footed again.

There were only 11 dishes - lovely pumpkin soup and again great seafood. I think I tasted about 7 of them. And then the karaoke! Mainly Chinese but I did sing, only my second ever karaoke experience. Red wine and beer cocktail may have helped. (and it's saved for posterity). It was late by the time the guests left leaving each family group with. bag of local delicacies, going to be interesting getting them in suitcases. A few folk went to the night market. I went to bed!

It was a very happy night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.