Linköping

It was a good thing that we went on our picnic yesterday! It started to snow at bedtime last night and then it turned to rain this morning. It was grey and cold and wet. A perfect day for shopping today!

We went into town after the 11 o’clock walkies, sadly leaving Alice behind. The sun did eventually come out so it wasn’t an entirely gloomy day. We visited a few shops and I bought a Swedish Fjällräven (arctic fox) backpack using a gift card that Elisabet had given me for my birthday. I’ve been wanting one of these iconic Swedish bags for a long time so I was very excited. I found the perfect ochre colour which is a favourite for me right now. Elisabet bought herself one too! See Alice’s blip for a picture of the bags!

My main blip picture is a selection of scenes from the downtown area of Linköping. There are some beautiful old buildings. The top right shows the old train station building with a rather interesting sculpture in the foreground. The top left is a train conductor seen at the station. The church is Saint Lars. The other two pictures are scenes from two of the city squares.

For lunch we ate at a popular bakery and cafe called Babette’s (see Extra photo). We both love it there. We had their soup of the day called ‘zero waste vegetable soup’ which came with all we could eat sour dough bread, cheese, butter and sesame paste. Of course we HAD to have Fika as well! We shared a delicious zucchini cake and a small Italian almond cookie. I think we overate a bit as neither one of us felt like more than a snack for dinner!

It was a fun day, finished off by crochet and chillaxing with a movie on TV.

See Alice’s blip here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.