Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Can you feel this?

I have not always been a fan of abstract art but there is some I really like and some I just scratch my head and think "what the heck does this mean!?"   A few years ago when I first started noticing abstract photography my first question to myself was "what is it?"    I wanted to know what this color, shape, form or whatever was a part of.   But after taking an online class on abstract photography from Kim Manley Ort (which she still offers called Going Abstract) I learned that it did not matter what something was called or what it is.  What mattered was seeing.   

Abstract could  be expressing a quality apart from the subject; removing a part of the whole;   using the design elements of shape, color, form, curves and light to represent a thing without naming it.   Abstract is not naming.  

I like ICM, macros showing just colors or curves, bold parts of something.  Closeups of peeling or faded paint or rust may show up in my abstract photos.  Water moving where I just see the colors, shapes and curves.   

This is something I saw this morning on my walk at the campground.  I thought it made a good abstract.   Some people will know what it is but forget that and see what it IS..shapes, colors, textures only.  FEEL what it is to you.  
  
We left the campground at 10am and arrived back home at 12:30 so not a bad ride.    While we were packing up the little tiny NO SEE UMS..biting little bugs that you can barely see were out in full force.  I had to bring out the bug repellent.  What was really strange was I walked the dog the mile around the the ponds as the sun was coming up and we did not have any trouble with them at all.  But they are mean little bugs!  Like a tiny tiny bee sting! And the usually swarm!   There were bad words spoken to them.       I will have to say our first venture with the camper was a success.  Learned some things and have a few ideas that may make that tiny space a little more efficient.    Less is best!      Talking about a mountain trip next week when friends will be there at the same time!   

In the extras is a photo of the pond at sunrise. There was little misty fog on the water and this old boat was right there asking to be included!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.