From Many Birds in a Row...to a Bird Tale of Woe

Thank you so much for the comments yesterday on my 8 year blip bird collage. After pasting in 25 birds...where do I go from there? Well...I didn't have to go very far.

The baby mourning dove was hanging around in our mailbox area, with many people coming and going. I noticed it at 10 a.m., and it was still there when I came down at 3 p.m. It would attempt a 4-5 second flight, then land and fall over 4-5 times. It wasn't fun to watch.

2 things come to mind. 1. I'll never understand why some bird species kick out their young so early. WHAT ARE THEY SUPPOSED TO DO? 2. I always have to fight the urge to "help" the bird. I wanted to catch the bird, take it upstairs, feed it for a couple of days, then let it go. But, I didn't.

I wish it the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.