Curious...

I'm sure this goldfinch was wondering exactly what I was doing with my long shiny lens. It definitely has an enquiring expression. It was one of many at Ferry Meadows this morning. I first discovered a large roost there last winter, and this seems to have formed again in roughly the same place. By the time I arrived the birds were dispersing to forage on the teasels which are plentiful throughout the park.

Rosie and I had a good walk round. Being a Saturday morning there were plenty of other dogs around for her to meet and greet, something she seems to be enjoying more and more. She particularly liked an elderly whippet called Max, and both became quite playful for a few moments.

Yesterdays rain has swollen the river again, and a short stretch of my route was shallowly flooded. I couldn't be bothered to backtrack so I skipped through it as fast as I could, and somehow managed to keep my feet dry. I suspect it won't be passable tomorrow without wellies!

In the afternoon we joined Alex at Orton Pit for a couple of hours, and while he was clearing scrub, we had a good walk round with the warden discussing the winter's management. A slug of sloe gin was a welcome addition to the proceedings - very festive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.