The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The writing's on the wall

Lansdown Lane, Stroud. The 'roll on...' work is by the political cartoonist Ken Sprague, who gave a talk in Stroud in 2000.

A slow, slow day in the market, with added rain. Fortunately three friends dropped in to see me. My employer decided to leave his work early, so I didn't have to go to my second job. That was a relief, as I didn't fancy hill walking today.

One bittersweet story: Norm sells CDs in the indoor market. His favourite era is the 50s and early 60s. Frequently the customers and other traders end up by singing along to his tunes. 'Rubber ball' is the one I recall from today's session, as well as 'Come outside'. My mother used to play that novelty song on a 7 inch disc.

A few weeks ago a regular customer came by Norm's stall, and said, 'Here's the thing. I've just bought a new car, and it hasn't got a CD player. Can I sell back all the CDs I've bought from you?'

Norm batted off the suggestion politely but firmly, but I couldn't help feeling for him, losing another customer of several years' standing. Technology marches, it doesn't jive.

It's been one tricky week. It's not over yet: I'm.back in the market tomorrow. More cake, more tea, more friends, I hope, to keep me company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.