Desperately seeking

By clickychick

A Funeral Like No Other

The Man and I went to a funeral today. A 69 year-old friend to me and wife of an ex-colleague and good friend of The Man's.

I have never gone to a funeral in red (we were asked to wear something red)
I've never gone to a funeral in jeans  (I wore a tight black pair inside black high-heeled boots)
I've never been to an outdoor funeral (it was cold but the view of Blencathra was breathtaking)
I've never had my favourite Leonard Cohen song used as the music for the service. (That's No Way To Say Goodbye)
I've never seen a coffin with hand-painted flowers all over it.

Goodbye, Di, they gave you an absolutely wonderful send-off, the sort of party you would have loved with all your friends and family at a venue we've been at many times!

So, I went more or less straight from the funeral to an evening hosted by Whickham Photo Club, near Newcastle, to hear a speaker from RPS showing successful distinction panels. Very interesting and enjoyable evening, made more so by Mystic who remembered me from a meeting last year and introduced us to walkingMarj. I'd have changed out of the red jumper if I'd thought I might be blipped but then the colour I would have preferred to wear just wouldn't have gone with the bright red red nails and I had no time to faff about changing those!

And now, I'm sitting listening to Leonard Cohen. This blip of nail varnish and scarf will be here to remind me of all today meant.

"Your eyes are soft with sorrow, hey, that's no way to say Goodbye"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.