WHAT'S THE TIME? IT'S KNITTING TIME!

Whilst I was feeling under the weather, I didn’t just sit and do nothing, I was making lots of pairs of fingerless gloves, using my Symfonie hardwood needles - the silly statistics for which are:

34   Pairs made in total - and sent to:

1     Guernsey
1     Netherlands
5     United States
4     Scotland
11   England

12   To be packaged up and sent

1,889  Number of stitches per glove
3,778  Number of stitches per pair of gloves
128,452 total number of stitches in 34 pairs of gloves

I nearly forgot - I have one pair of gloves half made, so that makes a total of 130,341 stitches - and one glove that went a little wrong which I had to discard - so the grand total is:

132,230 - and that doesn’t include the number of stitches to sew up each glove!!!

I think those are enough statistics for Silly Saturday!

Our lovely hairdresser, Lisa, brought me five balls of lovely double knitting wool last week when she came to cut our hair - the purple ones at the top and bottom are made from some of that wool - and she wondered if I might be able to use it to make gloves for the homeless.  What a great idea!  I shall be carrying on knitting and taking them to The Haven, a new homeless shelter in Swindon.  

The pattern is very easy - in fact, I can now knit a pair of gloves without even looking at the pattern - which reminds me, I must make a pair for myself!  I also found an app on my iPhone that helps with counting the rows, so as I finish a row, I just tap the phone and another row is counted.  Neat eh? 

“S.A.B.L.E.
     a common knitting acronym 
          that stands for 
Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy.” 

Stephanie Pearl-McPhee 
At Knit's End: Meditations for Women Who Knit Too Much

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.