HOW NOW, BROWN COW?

My title has its origin in elocution, when those who teach English speech and elocution use it to demonstrate how rounded vowel sounds are pronounced.  I’m sure most people in the UK will know this, even if they have never been to elocution lessons, and it just seemed appropriate for today.

We had a great service at Church this morning and it was good to be back singing in the Worship Group.  Stephen preached on the subject of “Sight”  another one of our senses and he pointed out that there are actually more than five of those - in fact there could be many more.  He preached a sort of “inter-active” sermon when he asked the congregation about different eye issues - which included glaucoma, floaters, short-sight, long-sight, colour-blindness, double vision, damaged retina, ocular migraine and even hallucinations.  As a retired doctor, Stephen was able to explain what these meant and then, of course, he then related them to spiritual matters.  A very interesting sermon.

After that, as usual we went out looking for dereliction and found quite a lot near Minety and Oaksey.  On our way, we stopped at our favourite farm to buy eggs, and I noticed that there were lots of cows in the farmyard.  There was quite a high wall surrounding the farmyard, but I was able to stand on a stone and see over it, so chatted to the cows for quite a while - I know, before you even say it, I do realise I am quite mad and actually, at the time, Mr. HCB had got back into the car, so I had no-one else to talk to!  

When I sent a copy of the middle photograph to my friend, G - she of the “Friday shenanigans”, she said that when she was nursing, she was asked to visit people who did things like that!  Good job she knows me well, yet still loves me.

Surrounding the cow are four lots of dereliction from various places - so as I was spoilt for choice, I decided to make a collage for Derelict Sunday.

Mr. HCB is watching football with his new “toy”, which lets him listen to the commentary, through his hearing aids, without me having to listen.  He even walked round to the greenhouse and was still able to hear it, so I can see he will turning the television on when cricket starts and listening while he potters.

“Our bodies have five senses: 
     touch, smell, taste, sight, hearing. 
But not to be overlooked are the senses of our souls: 
     intuition, peace, foresight, trust, empathy. 
The differences between people lie in their use of these senses; 
     most people don't know anything about the inner senses 
          while a few people rely on them 
               just as they rely on their physical senses, 
                    and in fact probably even more.” 
C. JoyBell C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.