MONO MONDAY - CONTENT

I am pleased to announce that the “Gentle Art of Swedish Death Cleaning” has begun - and the contents of 27 coat hangers are now either in a bag waiting to go to a charity shop or in a black bin liner awaiting transportation to a clothing bank in a local car park.

You may remember that last Thursday, I collected a copy of the book with the above title and decided that I had to start somewhere and my wardrobe was the place.  The lady who wrote the book suggests that you don’t start with photographs, letters or cards that you have hoarded saved, but that it is best to start gently with your clothes.

Little did I know when I started that I would be getting rid of twenty seven items of clothing!  Of course, I am hoping that once I have lost some more weight, I will be able to go out and buy replacements, but I doubt I will replace everything that I have discarded.

I have also deleted lots of photographs from my Macbook this morning - something else I am not very good at doing, but at the moment, I am content  that the job of decluttering has started and hopefully, I will continue to do a little each day.  I also need to remember this quote:

“Remember that the money 
     you spent on your item is gone. 
You are not any richer 
     because you store this item 
          in your home, 
and you won’t be poorer 
     if you let it go.”
Cassandra Aarssen : Real Life Organizing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.