WOT - NO WEDNESDAY SELFIE?

Ever since I started going over to the Swindon 105.5 Radio Station in January 2019 and especially since I have been on the "Girls About Town" programme that goes out every Wednesday, I have only missed about two programmes, so it will seem rather strange to me today not to be there.  However, it will be in the capable hands of Shirley for the first hour and then Nichola for the second hour and I’m sure they will do a wonderful job. 

In the meantime, I am going to record some items that hopefully will be able to be used on not only the "Girls About Town" programme, but also on other programmes too.  My Street Challenge  recordings are still going out on the programme that precedes Girls About Town and only last week, the presenter told me that he had enjoyed the one he had played that morning, so my voice is still going out over the airwaves, even if I’m not there in person.

Now to the "obligatory selfie" - I did mention to Mr. HCB yesterday that as there would be no "Girls About Town" selfie, perhaps we could do one together and of course, bless him, he was up for that - so here we are - in the garden and just before we go out for our daily walk.  We did look rather serious in some of the photographs, but then Mr. HCB started tickling me, which made us both laugh!  We are going out early so that we can get back to listen to "Girls About Town".

We enjoyed sitting in the conservatory yesterday afternoon, watching a pair of blue tits going in and out of one of the nest boxes in the garden - they don’t seem bothered about the CV and in fact, on our walk yesterday, we saw lots of tiny buds, daffodils and leaves on the trees - so life is going on in the world of nature - and for that we are thankful.  

In fact, if we look around, we can see and hear lots to be thankful for - the way people are stepping up and helping neighbours and supermarkets are opening their stores for an hour early in the mornings just for older folk, so that they can buy their groceries without being pushed and shoved by crowds of people. I’m not on Facebook now, but I’m sure that people are helping others through that medium, and of course, we mustn’t forget this wonderful “institution” of Blip - where people support each other from all over the world.  Yes, life is different and not what we are used to, but who knows, when this is all over, perhaps the new “normal” will be much better.

We had an email yesterday telling us that the Baptist Union, of which our Church is a member had said that at the moment we should no longer meet physically together, but that doesn’t stop us contacting our Church friends and offering help - and a service will be streamed live on Sunday morning so that we can still feel part of what is going on.  

These are strange and challenging times, but we can get through this - and for those of us with a faith and of a certain age, even if we are self-isolating, that does include praying - and if you have no faith, then I’m sure you are doing other things to help those around you.  

Keep on helping others and being kind - we all need to "Keep Up Our Spirits", the new tag to use during these challenging times.

“When you are kind to others,
     it not only changes you,
          it changes the world.”
Harold S. Kushner 

P.S.  I was really surprised on listening to the programme this morning to hear my voice - the very first interview I did for my Street Challenge with the Local Studies Librarian, Darryl Moody. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.