ABSTRACT THURSDAY - REPETITION

It’s a very cold and windy day again today, so I don’t really feel like going out for a walk, and I have to say, it’s not quite the same without Mr. HCB, so as the subject of today’s Abstract Thursday is repetition, I had to look around indoors for something to Blip.

Sometime ago, Gill, a very dear friend, who has appeared in my Blips, crocheted me a beautiful scarf, with some of my favourite colours - and I have to say I am in awe of her crochet skills.  Whenever I do any crochet, my squares are "skew-whiff" or wonky, which for those who don’t know means “out of alignment” or “sloping instead of straight”.   My crocheted oblongs are even more so, so I am obviously doing something wrong at the beginning or end of a row.  Perhaps I should be having a word with Gill about this when we next meet.  

I am very interested in words and their origin, so I decided to look up the meaning for “skew-whiff” and found out the following:

“From askew - meaning out of line and at an angle - and weft. The expression 'skew weft' dates at least from the 18th century as a term used by handloom weavers, typically in northern England. It was used originally to describe fabric which was out of alignment, and the term survives today in the manufacture of glass fibre cloth.”

Anyway, despite all that, here is my offering for Abstract Thursday with lots of repetition.  I’m actually wearing it now because it’s even cold indoors - I have a feeling that it’s going to be one of those raw, cold days that really gets into your bones - roll on summer!

I rather liked this quote - when my hands aren’t so sore, I obviously need to practice my crochet more!

“Routine has nothing to do with repetition; 
     to become really good at anything, 
          you have to practice and repeat, 
               practice and repeat, 
                    until the technique becomes intuitive.”
Paulo Coelho

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.