A Big Surprise Along the Side of the Road......

Today was bonsai workshop day at the nursery.  I repotted my Pomegranate gift from Asburydan, 2 of my kyoto's and discussed the Boxwood Forest I created a few weeks ago.    The weather was wonderful, a slight breeze, high clouds so not overly sunny and hot, and a wonderful fun group of people that I was laughing and talking with.
    I roamed around in some of the hidden recesses in the nursey and found another keyoto that looked really promising to me.   I took it back to the table, cut off all the basal sprouts and began searching around in the roots.  It turned out that all of the trunks turned out to be 3 individual trees.  They were pulled apart, gently and repotted themselves for greater individual development.   The bonsai part of the day was wonderful.   And, oh yes....... the baked apples were a huge hit. Prior to lunch over half of them had been eaten by all of the  attendees.  I saw people grab 3 to 5 cut up pieces, only to return for more, an hour later.   My cooking was a resounding success.

    On the way to the nursery, in the morning, I saw 2 grown Sandhill Cranes walking along the side of the road.  After we had passed by, I thought I saw a hatchling walking with the 2 cranes.  
    After the workshop was over, and I was heading home, I saw the cranes again, but realized there were 2 hatchlings, or maybe they are pre-fledgelings.  another car stopped behind me and the lady got out with her camera and started walking towards the birds which caused them to hurry away.  I waited till after she left, got down really low and nudged closer.  The birds looked backwards but didn't let me get to close.  Thank goodness for the hand-dandi iPhone camera!!!!   It saved the day again!
What a wonderful day today was........  :-))))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.