dreaming

By dreaming

A good day

Here is another in my series of Spring awakening. This bush is planted next to our building, the leaves are just starting to come out new and pink.

Today I went out without my winter coat for the first time in months.  Just a shirt and a warm sweater - it felt wonderful.  I went to Central Market because I'm making chicken broth today and I needed parsley and peppercorns - and a parsnip.  Cousin Sharon says she always uses one in her soup, and she is a great chef.

Speaking of Sharon, she called today for the first time since Rob died, four months ago.  I've continued to send her a flower image every day since then, but it was clear she would call when she felt she could talk.  She's doing really well, going out to lunch with friends and dinners at friends' homes, and being visited by all of her family taking turns coming to town so that she's not completely alone for too many days.  Their wedding anniversary came, and she took the weekend trip they always took on their anniversary, this time with a friend.  She isn't cooking - Rob was so much her sous chef that I think it's hard to do that without him yet.  But I'm so proud of her.  Talking with her was the highlight of my day.

And now I've gotten started on that chicken broth.  I've been saving leftover chicken bones, skin, and juices in containers in the freezer, I bought a pre-cut mirepoix  at Trader Joe's , and I've got a package of chicken thighs to go in, along with the herbs and spices.  It's all in my largest pot, and I think this time it will really be good.  And the recipe I'm using does not include salt, even though it's from the New York Times.  I'm not sure about that parsnip, however.

Minkelina has a cold, and it is so funny to watch her when she sneezes.  She immediately sits up and looks startled.  Otherwise, life is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.