AGBPhotography

By AGBPhotography

DIScontent

I'm going to put a slight twist on the Mono Monday challenge of 'content' by adding 'dis' in front of it.
My blip is of The Pavilion on Torquay's harbourside which has caused a mass of discontent throughout Torquay. I decided to 'paint' it sepia to give it an old feel.
In its lifetime it has been a theatre, an ice-skating rink and most recently until 2015 it was a shopping arcade. It has been closed since 2015 awaiting restoration.
The building stands partly on land reclaimed from the sea, it is built on a concrete raft on which a steel framework was constructed. These steel girders have become heavily corroded. Plans were submitted in 2016 for the Pavilion and adjacent area to be redeveloped into an 11 story hotel and in February 2017 outlining permission was granted. However a petition against the plans was submitted and last week the plans were rejected.
I will be adding a HDR shot of the front of the building as an extra on my blog either later this evening or tomorrow depending on whether my data holds out, visit https://agbpblipphoto.blogspot.com/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.