An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Under the Poplars

After my popular blip of yesterday (thanks to everyone) with long time exposure and 14mm super-wide lens, it was out to my favourite poplar trees, this time.

For the first time with this subject, I used the 'bulb' shutter speed setting and held the shutter open for about 2.5 minutes, the lights being much brighter - and closer - than last night's even longer exposure.

One or two Blippers really don't like the fiery orangey-brown colour cast given off by the streetlamps so I've tried this as a monochrome version, which is more subtle and allows greater flexibility with the sky.

I also utilised the upward sweep of the 114 degree angle of view (eqv to 9mm in DX) but some flare was created, mainly by the giant fish-bowl front element and almost no lenshood (it would impede into the image). Rather than try and remove them (frankly, I'm so knackered, my eyes are almost stuck together) and it'd be really tricky anyway, being against background detail) but I have individually lessened their impact, many being almost invisible now.

A visit to my father's in the New Forest on Monday might allow for some proper daylight shots for the next blip; sometimes normality can seem very welcoming!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.