Castle Crag

I didn't want to travel too far today and the weather wasn't looking too bad after 10 o'clock so I went into town to get a few bits and have a cup of coffee first, then drove the four or five miles down to Grange at the southern end of Derwent Water. There was a bit of a breeze blowing as I walked over the bridge and through the little village. It was one of those days when you zip up your layers and then before you know it you heat up and have to unzip again. It went on like that all morning!

I've not been here before and although I've see Castle Crag from the distance it's difficult to know if you've actually got there because the shape's completely different it's the scree slope that identified it in the end. I took a variety of shots on the way up and down and from different positions on the valley side. My main blip is from west side by the old slate workings and I've added an extra from the path going up. If you'd like to see some others they're all here in an album I'm compiling of the whole trip.

It was good to spend the morning in Borrowdale and it didn't rain, well not much anyway, just a couple of little drizzly periods.

I'll be moving on up to Scotland and Glencoe tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.