Up early...

..to make my friend's 70th birthday card. I kept it simple on the covers, but there are messages inside the card. Decorated the envelope too.

Went back to bed for 20 minutes before I had to go out. Popeye was sitting on my thatched swing. So took a pic of him through the window.

But then he saw me so demanded to come in via my bedroom window. So my next 20 minutes were a cat coming in and out...

The sun still hadn't reached the wicker chair I had made for Popeye the other day, so I didn't know if he had sat on it yet. But when I got back home tonight, it looks like a cat had shredded the back of the seat during the day today...

I still had to get a birthday present for my friend, so I went to the garden centre first. We do give each other birthday presents, but not Xmas ones.

I had the idea of getting some daffodils for her kitchen window, but the daffodils had already passed their peak. Because she lives on the 11th floor of flats, my idea was to get bright yellow daffodils (so she could keep them on the window ledge for a bit), and a trowel to put them in the communal garden once they passed their best. Daffodils are so cheerful. And then when they pass their best, the trowel was so she could plant the daffodils under the rose tree she takes care of in the communal gardens they have.

I didn't know if she would appreciate that idea. We are of the age we have all the presents we need. We don't necessarily need any more house plants to take care of at our time of life. Looking round the garden centre I found some bowls of hyacinths. A gorgeous scent they had. There was a bowl of pink hyacinths which looked the best, and so I got those. And I thought they could go underneath the rose bush she takes care of (via instructions from me!). I got a nice trowel.

She was surprised, but I explained my reasoning. She thought it was a fantastic idea, and loved the heady scent of the hyacinths. And was willing to plant them under the rose bush when they were past their best.

So, I think I now have her birthday present worked out for each year now... some flowering spring bulbs...she did love my yellow daffodil idea. I have been thinking, next year I will get the flowering daffodil bulbs in advance, that is when they are in bud and keep them in a cold place so they should be ready in time for her birthday. And she would love those under the rose bush she takes care of in the communal gardens.

Knackered now. In potting shed with Popeye. I might nap in here until the light goes. Then do a bit of stuff when I get back in...then bed!

Thank you for looking in.
Take care x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.