A glimpse of the sun

It's so far been a bit of grey old week in Tampere, but there was a smidgeon of sunshine this morning, before the grey came back late morning, along with some snow (which didn't settle). It was considerably warmer when I walked back from work than it was when I went out this morning to meet a colleague at Café Puusti, where I resisted the excellent homemade Korvapuusti.

I've had a most successful day workwise. I finished a book review that is part of a symposium I'm editing, edited the other reviews, sent them to a colleague who has just got back to me with small corrections. They've now gone to the other two reviewers, before we send the whole package to the author for her comments and response. If she wishes to respond.

I've also had the reviews back on a book proposal that I submitted and they are very positive. We are going to the contract stage the week after next. I'll devote Friday's "shut up and write" to writing the response to the reviewers.

And finally, I drafted a blog for the Tampere uni social science blog, and sent it to the editor for comment. It's largely based on previous blogs of mine, but with some additions.

The only thing that isn't going too well are my feet, both of which have been bothering me for the last two days. However, when I walked back this evening they seemed better. It's possible that I might just have been feeling weary and this transmitted itself to my feet. The left one was a different sort of pain - it felt like a muscle strain. Anyway, I haven't dared go to the gym this week, but I hope to go tomorrow.

Oh, and of course there's another thing that isn't going too well. But I cannot bear to mention its name.

No blip inspiration. The only photograph I took was of a painted pine cone on one of the window sills in the Airbnb this morning. When the sun was briefly shining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.